community & alumni
Board of Education
Firelands Board of Education 
Mrs. Keri Angney, Mr. Tom Myers, Mr. Dan Pycraft, Mr. Ben Gibson, Mr. Mike O'Keefe, Dr. Jane Battig (retired), and Mr. Mike Von Gunten. Not pictured is Mr. Bob Danicki.
President: Mr. Ben Gibson
Vice President: Mr. Mike O'Keefe
Standing Committees 
Building & Grounds: Ben Gibson & Mike O'Keefe
Finance & Audit Committee: Ben Gibson & Tom Myers
Foundation Trustee: Dan Pycraft & Bob Danicki
Future Planning: Ben Gibson & Dan Pycraft 
OSBA/Legislative Liaison: Tom Myers
OSBA Student Achievement Liaison: Bob Danicki
Policy Development: Ben Gibson & Bob Danicki
Representative on LCJVS Board of Education:  Dwayne Becker
Transportation: Mike O'Keefe & Dan Pycraft

15 yrs of Service

Thank you to Dr. Battig and Mr. Pycraft for 15 years of Service to the Firelands Board of Education. They were presented appreciation certificates from the OSBA at the October BOE meeting. Your time and dedication to the FLSD is greatly appreciated.
The Board of Education is composed of five members, each elected to four years terms by the registered voters in the district.

The primary responsibility of the Board is to establish purposes, programs and procedures which produce the educational achievement needed by District students. The Board must accomplish this while also being responsible for wise management of resources available to the District. The Board must fulfill these responsibilities by functioning primarily as a legislative body to formulate and adopt policy, by selecting an executive officer to implement policy and by evaluating the results.

In accordance with these principles, the Board seeks to achieve the following goals:

  • To concentrate the Board's collective effort on its policy-making and planning responsibilities:
  • To formulate Board policies which best serve the educational interests of each student;
  • To provide the Superintendent with sufficient and adequate guidelines for implementing Board policies;
  • To maintain effective communication with the school community, the staff and the students in order to maintain awareness of attitudes, opinions, desires and ideas;
  • To allow those responsible for carrying out objectives to contribute to their formation;
  • To conduct Board business openly, soliciting and encouraging broad-based involvement in the decision-making process by public, students and staff and
  • To periodically review its performance relative to the goals.

The Board of Education Office is located at:
112 N. Lake St. South Amherst, Ohio 44001
Phone: 440-965-5821   Fax: 440-986-5990 

Mr. Ben Gibson
BOE President
Mr. Mike O'Keefe
BOE Vice President

Mr. Daniel Pycraft
 Mr. Tom Myers
Mr. Bob Danicki
Board Policy
Agendas & Minutes
Public Notice
Public Participation at Board Meetings
BOE Meeting Dates
August 13, 2018
September 10, 2018
October 8, 2018
November 12, 2018
December 10, 2018
January 14, 2019
February 11, 2019
March 11, 2019 
April 8, 2019
May 13, 2019 
June 10, 2019
July 8, 2019 
All BOE meetings start at 7:00 pm and are held at the BOE in South Amherst. 
Firelands Local Schools
© Copyright. 2018. All Rights Reserved.

School CMS Created by eSchoolView
View text-based website