Skip to main content
Voice Recognition

Firelands Endowment

The Firelands Endowment

The Firelands Endowment Fund is supported by the Community Foundation of Lorain County. The Community Foundation is a non-profit organization that began in 1980 and is dedicated to making all of Lorain County a better place to live and work. The Foundation is governed by a 20 member Board of Directors who hire investment managers who pools all assets to increase investment diversification, thereby reducing costs. 
Locally, we have Endowment Trustee's who oversee the accounts managed for The Firelands Local School Districts. These dedicated individuals are able to award as much as 5.5% of the average market value of each account, annually. Earnings are reinvested into the principal to keep the funds growing for future needs. This support will be used to enhance non-required school programs and student scholarships. The Firelands Endowment Fund shall be used for the support and enhancement of Education within The Firelands Local School District.
To date, The Firelands Endowment Trustees have distributed multiple grants totaling over $475,000 and 380 scholarships totaling $440,750.


New Endowment Scholarship Awarded!
Dr. W, Joseph Campbell and Nathan Draga

The newest Firelands Endowment Scholarship, The 1970 Champions Scholarship, was awarded for the first time at the Senior Awards Ceremony on May 8, 2024.Learn more about this scholarship here.

Connect to a Cause 2023: 

Many  "THANKS" from the Firelands Schools Endowment Trustees to all the donors who participated in the Lorain County Community Foundations "Connect to a Cause" event on Thursday, September 21st.  We truly appreciate the continued community and staff support.   Again this year, over $3,600 was donated to the Endowment Fund. 
Through the years, the Endowment's 16 separate funds have been able to award 430 grants totaling over $500,000  and 353 scholarships totaling $405,000 to support the students of the Firelands School District.  All of these made possible by tax-deductible contributions from our community members, alumni and staff which are never spent.  Only the interest earned is available for distribution.  Contributions keep working over and over again!
Thank you all.......this support of the Endowment Fund will continue the legacy to enrich the lives of Firelands Local School students.
Barb Bechtel, Jerry Born, Ann Buchs, Bob Danicki, Amy Hignett, Kellsey Horton, Scott Northeim, Kristi Palmer, Dan Pycraft, Tammy Schultz, Kathy Whitmore, Diane Zimmer

FHS Received a New Outdoor Classroom
The Firelands Endowment has provided an outdoor classroom at the new high school. Click here to read more.

FHS Receives FHS Alumni Who Served Digital Display
The Firelands Endowment's support was critical in creating this military appreciation project! Click here to be taken to the program.

Scholarship Opportunities

2024 Endowment Scholarships that are available:

Please see this information regarding Firelands Endowment Scholarships. Scholarship applications are due by March 1, 2024. 

Students that have questions should see Mrs. Horton in the FHS Counseling Office.

Congratulations to the 2024 Endowment Scholarship Winners!

Download the 2024 Endowment Scholarship recipients here.


Donations to the various accounts allows the Endowment Trustees to continue to support our programs and our students. Your contributions are necessary to keep this program growing and they are sincerely appreciated.

To choose a fund to donate to, please click:

You will be taken to the Community Foundation's website. Under keyword simply type Firelands Schools. You will see all of the different accounts that are set up to benefit a FLSD student or program.

The Firelands Endowment Committee proudly supports the following accounts:

  1. Firelands Endowment Fund John and Ethel Lupe Memorial Fund
  2. 1970 Champions Scholarship
  3. Firelands Schools Bechtel Family Scholarship Fund
  4. Firelands Schools Cameron Greene Scholarship
  5. Firelands Schools Community Scholarship Fund
  6. Firelands Schools Debbie Cook Fine Arts Scholarship Fund
  7. Firelands Schools Endowment Fund
  8. Firelands Schools Fine Arts Endowment Fund
  9. Firelands Schools Firelands FFA Educational Fund
  10. Firelands Schools HA Born Scholarship for FFA
  11. Firelands Schools John W. Hostetler Scholarship Fund
  12. Firelands Schools Marilyn Immler Memorial Scholarship Fund
  13. Firelands Schools Milad and Fanny Abraham Endowment Fund
  14. Firelands Schools Susan Beecheler Scholarship for Future Teachers Fund
  15. Firelands Schools The Steve and Courtney Ortner Family FFA Endowment Fund
  16. Firelands Schools Walter and Luella Tuttle Fund for Teachers
Your donations are sincerely appreciated and will assist students for many years to come.


Ann Buchs, President 
Jerry Born, Vice President 
Dan Pycraft, Treasurer 
Kathy Whitmore, Secretary 
Barb Bechtel
Bob Danicki 
Amy Hignett
Scott Northeim
Kristi Palmer
Tammy Schultz
Diane Zimmer
Kelsey Horton
Keri Angney, Ex-Officio
Mike Von Gunten, Ex-Officio


Contact Information

Firelands Endowment

Superintendent FLSD
Treasurer FLSD

Learn more!

Read our newest brochure here!
History, Purpose, and more!
Learn about the Community Foundation and the different ways you can support this mission.